RSS

Burlesque Anyone?

16 Feb

Right now just trying to divert my brain from the obvious…which are,  things that I thought were in my grasp are now…gone, I guess.  And I have a headache because I’m too lazy to go down get some water so I can have my daily caffine.  But instead of being sad and curling up under the sheets and shutting down, which I have been known to do…I turned on RuPaul’s Drag Race on logoonline and watched the first 3 episodes.  Now, if a bunch of drama filled drag queens can’t divert your attention I don’t know what will. Thats when the drag shows lead me to think about Burlesque shows. I went to my first one a few years ago in St. Paul Minnesota. It was a small hole in the wall kinda bar and grill. I almost thought I wondered into wrong spot. A few middle aged white men at the bar. A couple chain smoking women chatting it up in the corner and elderly waitress who had clearly seen better days. And then walks in two black lesbians.  Nervous. Slightly. Either me or my then girlfriend asked someone where the burlesque show was being held and he pointed us to a downstairs room, which was just as empty as the one we had came from. However, a few drinks and about 45 mins later, the room began to fill up. Not a huge crowd, but it was nice. The show, to say the least was interesting.  The best was a fire spitting women doing acrobatic stunts. Others, a little bit more storytelling/theatrical, less undressing, and of course some completely undressing however always leaving certain aspects of the body to the imagination. All in all it was different. Yet I knew, it could be better. Since then I haveyet  to go back to a burlesque show, even though I know I would enjoy it. Phoenix sucks, so I know there’s nothing out here. Some clubs advertise themselves as burlesque, but then turns out to be plan whole stripping and pole dancing.  Here are some places that seem really cool and entertaining. And if I venture out I’ll be sure to visit.

www.thecancan.com

www.thepinkdoor.net

http://www.tasteofamore.com

Oh and wanna get your Master’s and master in Burleque? There’s a school for that:

New York School of Burlesque @ the Slipper Room www.schoolofburlesque.com/

Miss Indigo Blue’s Academy of Burlesque located Seattle  academyofburlesque.com/

Lady Grace Acadmy located in Houstin Texas        www.ladygraceacademy.com/soirees.html

“N is the undisputed NC-17 of burlesque and a queer, schizophrenic, anti-social mad scientist genius with a mind so dark and x-rated that she will captivate and scare you all at the same time! Her deadly works of performance art are political, scary and most importantly leaves you thinking. She provokes issues through her art and is not afraid to cross boundaries.

She is a co-founder and co-producer of HyperGender Burlesque, a monthly themed queer cabaret that can only be described as Gritty, Dirty, Sexy Performance Art.”

“GRAVITY PLAYS FAVORITES (ST. LOUIS)
gravity :def’n (1 a) dignity of bearing
St. Louis socialites Katrina Dohl and Michelle Mynx have been traveling the world as Gravity Plays Favorites for almost four years. Born into the seedy underbelly of St. Louis, these classically trained pole dancers quickly developed their skills to suit any performance, from neo-burlesque clubs and festivals to circus and museum events. They are regular performers for the New York Burlesque Festival and the Miss Exotic World Burlesque Hall of Fame in Las Vegas. This is their second trip to Toronto.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2010 in dear diary

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Burlesque Anyone?

  1. N

    March 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Thanks so much for the burlesque love darling! Much Appreciated! 😀

    xo
    N

     
    • teresz

      March 29, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      Anytime 🙂 and thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
