RSS

Banana Pudding Obsession

05 Dec

I’ve been on this comfort food thing for some time now. And it’s all been revolving around desserts. Breadpudding, cupcakes, cakes, and the infamous banana pudding. Yes, I’ve been baking those like crazy. However, BP was always a dessert  despised when I was younger. The thought of eating mushy bananas with even mushier nilla wafers sitting in some yellow guck, was terrifying. Now, I absolutely love it. My first attempt at a banana pudding was several years ago when I went home for the holidays. It came out perfectly. The recipe was from Maya Angelou. I did not have her cookbook, but Oprah had it in her magazine . And if Oprah likes it…well then there you have it.

In Maya’s recipe it called for a meringue topping instead of the actual pudding was I LOVE. It actually makes it look better with the meringue swirled around on top with a slightly toasted color. Beautiful. (refer to pic above.)

However, I will admitt that I have butchered her recipe. With my new found love of banana pudding I took it back home to mpls to fix for my then girlfriend. It came out…good. I made it a second time and it was a disaster. Convinced that I had accidentally forgotten an ingredient I tryed it again. And once more…ruins. Back then I didnt know how to cook. I simply followed the recipe verbatim. And watched what happened. Now that I know better, I realized that when making the custard from scratch, it has to come to a boil or the pudding will never set. It will just be a watery mess. This would explain the constant hit or miss whenever I made the recipe.

Another recipe I’ve tried was the Neelys. Now, I have to say that I was sadly dissappointed with their take on the pudding. It was TOO SWEET. Their recipe calls for a whooping 2 and a half cups of sugar. Um, is that a misprint? Like an idiot I followed the instructions and had it not been for the little nieces and nephews who gobbled it all up, I would tossed it.

Next would be good ole Paula Deen. She has a basic banana pudding recipe which slightly mirrors Angelou’s. And she also had her own creation which was something I’ve never heard of in banana pudding. Philly creamcheese, chessman cookie and *gasp* instant vanilla pudding. Uh-un no she didnt. Everytime I hear somebody claiming they use instant pudding to make this beautiful artform, I cringe beyond belief. Mind you I’ve been bypassing this recipe for months now. Simply because of that word. Instant. But then again it had 5 stars and like a thousand comments. Seriously, it has 1704 comments to date. And clearly they’re not bad comments. So I gave in and bought the ingredients last night and made the damn instant banana pudding. Well…

HATED IIIITTTT. lol However,  I did have 2 servings before going to bed. Hey, I was hungry. Well, unless your a whipcream fiend, this is not for you. She asks for 6-8 banana’s. I had six in my bunch. Perhaps I needed 20. The whipped cream was so overwhelming. Mixed with the 2cups milk, plus a can of condensed milk, plus the creamcheese, you could barely find a doggone banana! It should have been called whipped pudding with chessmen cookies. I tweaked mine. I used nilla wafers and added a teaspoon vanilla. Still not the business. I’ll give it another taste tonight. Sometimes desserts are so much better the next day.

Anywho, that’s my rant and rave about banana pudding. Maya still holds the torch when it come to my favorite recipe.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2010 in dear diary

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Banana Pudding Obsession

  1. Veronique (Wiz)

    December 5, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Lol you went really hard on banana pudding I have a recipe for it.. But I use pudding not instant…- I will write it down and send it to you.

     
  2. teresz

    December 5, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Thanks girl, just been havin a real bad sweet tooth as of late, lol

     
  3. Tahlie

    September 30, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Ran across your blog entry while searching for a recipe for chessmen cookies. My family loves traditional banana pudding. I was skeptic when I saw the instant pudding in Paula Deen’s recipe too but I tried Paula’ s and my family love it! I follow the recipe except for the amount of whipped topping. I mix the ingredients and folded in the whipped topping to taste.

     
    • teresz

      October 1, 2011 at 7:27 am

      Yeah, I actually forgot to update this post and say that I actually did end up liking Paula Deens version;) But your right, next time I won’t put so much whip cream, thanks for commenting:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
