RSS

This Is How We Do It

15 Jan

I first stumbled along D. Alexandria on Kuma.net, years ago. She also went under the pen name Glitter. Even back then her short stories always stood out to me. They simply struck a lovely cord. This had to be sometime in 2000 in my mother’s house with my mouse hovering over the minimize botton just in case an unexpected guest came storming through my room.  When living in a small closeted, homophobic town, Kuma.net was a nice lesbo escape from reality. She later created her own small website, which she had a compilation of several of her short stories. Alexandria also stated on the site, that she was in the process of writing her own book/novel.
Now I have to say, when ever an artist or author states that they will be writing their own book in the future, you expect that timeline to be anywhere from a couple months to several years. And everyone knows somebody working on that great novel/ manuscript/album, what have you. So I kept my fingers crossed and hoped that I wouldn’t be in my grave by the time D. Alexandria got published. And low and behold, here she is with \”This Is How We Do It\” And I love it. She has 13 short stories compiled. About 3 of them are older stories that she wrote and had published several years ago. She starts slightly vanilla with “When She’s Mad,” and “Shhh.” Which when you think about it, is expected. I mean you don’t want to scare your readers with a big dose of BDSM on the first page. “Fantasy Alley” and “The Jewel of Storyville” are sexy and imaginative.
The book is composed of intros and interludes, with interludes 1-3 actually expressing more of the erotic side D. Alexandria. “Butches Don’t” is especially hot. Without giving to much away, we all know what butches ‘don’t’ do. And the taboo created around this is a lovely turn on. “Property” is a  romantic love tale, in which I mean in a sadistic, erotic way of course.
I love the way every story had a different sexual theme. Not every short story was based on BDSM. Some were simply kinky, like “Prey” and “Tag!” Others were simply considered taboo, like “Shhh” and “Butches Don’t”. Some were overwhelmingly sadomaso, like the obviously titled “Pain Slut” and “Penance”. With any short story collection your always left wanting more. Some shorts are meant to be just that. Other’s like “Property” and “Butches Don’t” leave you wanting an actual 295 page novel of the background and future happenings of these characters.
Anyways D. Alexandria’s “This Is How We do It” was definitley worth waiting for. And congrats on publishing her first book and hopefully this is only the beginning.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in Lesbo stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “This Is How We Do It

  1. dalexandria

    October 4, 2011 at 5:03 am

    OMG. This was AMAZING to read. Thank you, thank you, thank you for supporting my work for so long!! And I’m so glad I didn’t disappoint you 🙂 ~D. Alexandria

     
    • teresz

      October 4, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Wow, did my idol just comment on my page?! Lol Thank you for stopping by, your work is always amazing to read! And yes, I’ve been a fan for quite awhile. Can’t wait til your next installment of short stories (or perhaps a novel) to be published. Keep up the great work and thanks for checking out my blog:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
