RSS

hair drama

23 Sep

Why does it seem like the people closest to you are your worse critics. Because they…care? Before the BC, I hinted to co-workers and a couple associates about my sudden venture. Responses? Oh cool. Whatever style you have, you can pull it off.

Maybe people who are close to you, are just more comfortable being straight up honest with you. Family and friends respone:

“Noooooo!”

“You’ll look like a boy, dont do it.”

“You will be ALONE!”

“Is something wrong?”

When I actually did the BC, I nearly got a standing ovation at work. And compliments from some neighbors. But loved ones? You would have thought someone died. The less than thrilled reations from family members. That ‘obligatory smile.’ You know, the thin lip, straight line smile. And I’m sure my mother thinks I’m on my way to transitioning .

And this afternoon was the final straw. When A. called regarding the photos I sent. Like, I was sure somebody passed away. I could hear it in her voice. But nope, that wasnt it. She was dissapointed because I cut my hair. My goodness. Really. Is it that serious. She replies, “Well you know I didnt want you to cut your hair off.” Her tone and mood was clearly upset. After going back and forth, her insisting that this had to be some type of joke, me insisting that it cleary wasnt, A. said “we’ll talk later” and noted as long as like it then, fine.

By the way, I hate when people say. “Well as long as you like it…”

Honestly, I wish I can say I could care less what people think of me, especially regarding my personal style, but she did actually hurt my feelings.

I love my hair. And I have no regrets. And even though I said I was lazy and no longer wanted to style my hair…I ended standing in front of the mirror for 2 hours making little twisties. It actually came out really cute. I surprised myself. Anywho, thats my rant for the day. Now for some margaritas and 50 cent tacos. A. can talk to my voicemail.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 23, 2011 in dear diary

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
