RSS

“Oil Infusion Set” review…well kinda

29 Sep

I think I stumbled upon this product while watching youtube naturals last night. You would have thought I was newly natural with the videos I’ve been taking in. But no, just newly chopped. Trying to get an idea of how other twa’s style there hair. Anyway’s there were alot of videos expressing their thoughts on the (olive) “Oil Infusion Set” by Carol’sDaughter. The oil infusion set uses the product khoret amen, which has been a staple product pretty much since CD’s introduced her line. I first saw the Khoret Amen line several years ago, when I first discovered Carol’sDaughter, however I was always turned off simply by the name. ‘Khoret’ reminded me of carrots, so I just never came around to purchasing it, lol. I know, stupid. And I may be wrong about this, but I could have sworn she took the Khoret Amen line down some time ago, so I was surprised to see it up again in the form of the ‘Oil Infusion Set.”

Now basically this is my review/assumption of the product. The assumption is because, I’ve never used it. (Don’t you just love reviews from people who have never even used the products) . After watching several tuturials of how naturals used the ‘Oil Infusion’, and how their hair was reportedly manageble, soft, and detangled, I started thinking, well…if you put any oil, such as jojoba, olive, avocado oil, on your hair and scalp and lathered on top of that a good deep conditioner, such as any CarolsDaughter cond., sheamoisture, Motions, etc, than sat under a dryer for about 30 minutes, I would be absolutely shocked if my hair didnt feel manageble, soft, and detangled.

And honestly most folks have these ingredients at home right now. Who doesnt have a bottle of conditioner in their home? I’m guessing some would even have a ‘deep’ conditioner sitting on their shelves right now. And if you just so happen to have a bottle of olive oil in your kitchen cabinet, then there you go, oil infusion set in your home, saving you a sweet $25 bucks. I mean honestly whats the difference?

Whats in the Khoret Amen Hair Oil?

Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Fragrance (Parfum), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Cananga Odorata (Ylang Ylang) Oil, Pogostemon Cablin (Patchouli) Oil, Jumiperus Virhiniana (Cedarwood) Oil, Salvia Sclarea (Clary Sage) Oil, Pimenta Racemosa (Bay) Oil

So basically she uses one carrier oil which would be the Olive Oil and various essential oils. And honestly the essential oils are there more or less to create the ‘khoret amen’ fragrance. But don’t get me wrong, these EO’s do contain beneficial properties, such as lavendar being a anti-inflammatory and sage, an anti-fungal. But without the EO’s added would you lose the hydrating and moisturizing affects? I honestly don’t think so.

What’s in your kitchen cabinet Olive Oil?…

Olive Oil
(Feel free to add in essential oils) *

Whats in the Khoret Amen Hair Smoothie?

Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Brassicamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Amodimethicone, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Mauritia Flexuosa (Buriti) Fruit Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Panthenol (Pro-vitamin B5), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Cananga Odorata (Ylang Ylang) Oil, Pogostemon Cablin (Patchouli) Oil, Juniperus Virginiana (Cedarwood) Oil, Salvia Sclarea (Clary Sage) Oil, Pimenta Racemosa (Bay) Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tetrasodium EDTA, Aspartic Acid, Polysorbate 20, PEG-40 Castor Oil, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum)

Whats in my conditioner at home?

deionized water, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), argan oil, cetyl esters, sea kelp extract, panthenol (vitamin b-5), ammonium salt, essential oil blend, avocado oil, lonicera caprifolium (honeysuckle) flower and lonicera japonica (japanese honeysuckle) flower extract, tocopherol (vitamin e), hyssopus officinalis extract, salvia officinalis (sage) leaf and equisetum arvense extract, soybean oil, daucus carota sativa (carrot) seed oil.

Both pretty much have really good natural and moisturing ingredients.

Now the only thing that’s new to me is the technique of the product. I have to admit I’ve never tried oil and a conditioner at the same time. If I’m doing a hot oil treatment, it’s simply putting oil on my hair then sitting under a dryer. So yes, the “Oil Infusion Set” technique is something new to me that I cant wait to try, but do I specifically need the “Khoret Amen Infusion Oil Set” to get the same benefits? I really don’t think so.

But hey, I could be wrong, this wouldnt be the first time.

 So personally I’ll pass on the “Oil Infusion Set.” But the technique, yeah I’ll definitely be trying that.

*For any ‘kitchen chemist’ out there, make sure your using ph balance strips for any homemade hair concoctions. And also create small batches that you will likely use within 1 to 2 wks. It cuts down on bacteria potenially forming 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in dear diary

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to ““Oil Infusion Set” review…well kinda

  1. wiz

    September 30, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Yes I make my own and add my own essential oils based on state of hair and fragrance desired.

     
    • teresz

      September 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      Yep, that’s the way to go

       

Leave a Reply

 
